National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP)

NFIP Overview Video​

The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP)​ was created with the passage of the National Flood Insurance Act of 1968.  The goal of the program is to help mitigate future losses caused by flooding through community enforced building standards.

Participation in the NFIP is voluntary and is based on a community's agreement to adopt and enforce, at a minimum, the Federal standards for building within a Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA).  In exchange, the Federal Government makes flood insurance available as a financial protection against flood losses.

The Department of Transportation and Development is the State Coordinating Agency for the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) as designated by the Governor. The purpose of the program is to promote local government compliance with NFIP regulations in order to ensure the availability of low-cost flood insurance and in doing so minimize loss of life and property due to catastrophic flooding. This is accomplished through on-site assessments, distribution of a quarterly newsletter, conducting workshops, providing technical assistance on local government ordinance development and participation in post-disaster Flood Hazard Mitigation activities. The program is funded by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) on a 75% Federal and 25% State basis.

How can you participate in the NFIP?

To participate in the NFIP, a community must adopt floodplain management criteria, a flood damage prevention ordinance, that matches the flood risk data that have been provided by FEMA.  These minimum criteria are set forth in 44 CFR 60.3(a), (b), (c), (d) or (e).  By adopting a resolution and an appropriate level of ordinance or court order, a community can apply to FEMA for participation in the NFIP.

If your community is interested in participating in the NFIP, please visit How can you participate in the NFIP? to be taken to our enrollment information page.

Community Rating System (CRS)

The Community Rating System (CRS) is a voluntary program that recognizes and encourages a community's efforts that exceed the NFIP minimum requirements for floodplain management.  The CRS program emphasizes three goals: to reduce flood damage to insurable property; strengthen and support the aspects of the NFIP; and encourage a comprehensive approach to floodplain management.  By participating in the CRS program, communities can earn a discount on flood insurance premiums based upon the activities that reduce the risk of flooding within the community.  For more information about the CRS program, visit the Community Rating System (CRS)​​ page.

Community Resources

For additional Information such as flyers, technical bulletins, links, additional grant information and other helpful resources, visit the Community Resources page​.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​