

Louisiana Drone Advisory Committee (LADAC)

Louisiana Drone Advisory Committee (LADAC) Meeting Minutes

Location: Louisiana House of Representatives, House Committee Room 5

Mr. Brandt called the meeting to order at 10:09am. Welcomed new members and returning minutes, and gave a brief background of how the LADAC came to be.

Committee Members Present:

Honorable Robert (Bob) Owen, Mr. Joel Champagne, Jr; Mr. DaCoda Bartels, Mr. Andy Brown, Mr. Brian Landry, Mr. Jeffrey Messinger, Dr. James Dire, Dr. Balaji Ramachandran, Mr. Scott Gammel, Mr. Joshua (Josh) Alford and Mr. Bradley (Brad) Brandt. Quorum met due to 11 out of 15 committee members being present. (8 out of 15 members must be present to make a quorum).

Proxies: Andrea Dupre' attended as proxy for Mr. George Rey.

Call for Additional Agenda Items:

Mr. Brandt asked if anyone had any items they'd like to add to the agenda. None added.

Approval of Minutes:

Motion made by Mr. Gammel and seconded by Mr. Brown to approve the minutes from the last LADAC meeting as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

Election of Officers

- a. Chairman: Bradley Brandt
 - Nomination made by Mr. Alford and seconded by Mr. Bartels for Mr. Brandt to continue to serve as chairman. No other nominations' were made—and all votes were "Yea"—vote approved for Bradley (Brad) Brandt to serve as LADAC Chairman.
- b. Vice-Chairman: George Rey
 - Nomination made by Mr. Alford and seconded by Dr. Ramachandran for Mr. Rey to continue to serve as chairman. No other nominations' were made—and all votes were "Yea"—vote approved for George Rey to serve as LADAC Vice-Chairman.
- c. Secretary: Joshua Alford
 - Nomination made by Dr. Ramachandran and seconded by Mr. Bartels for Mr. Alford to continue to serve as secretary. No other nominations' were made—and all votes were "Yea"—vote approved for Joshua (Josh) Alford to serve as LADAC Secretary).
- d. FAA Liaison: Scott Gammel
 - Nomination made by Dr. Ramachandran and seconded by Mr. Bartels for Mr. Gammel to continue to serve as FAA Liaison. No other nominations' were made—and all votes were "Yea"—vote approved for Scott Gammel to serve as LADAC FAA Liaison.

Task Group Reports

No new reports from the task groups.

Mr. Brown requested that a Task Group "Terms of Reference" be included in the committee packets for the next LADAC meeting for new members as well as returning members to have a reference guide about task groups.



Louisiana Drone Advisory Committee (LADAC)

Subject Matter Presentations:

Andrea Dupue' from the Houma-Terrebonne Airport Commission gave a presentation on. "Electrification of Aircraft"

Legislative Report Requirements:

a. Last years' report is on the LADOTD Aviation website. A recommendation can be proposed at any time in accordance with law.

B Annual Report Deadlines

- i. Report is due to the Legislature committee by March 10, 2023.
- ii. For DOTD approval purposes reports need to be to Secretary Wilson by February 24, 2022
- iii. LADAC Committee will review report and vote at January 2023 meeting.

New Business

A. Drone Investigation and Critical Infrastructure – Jonathan Kemp

Mr. Kemp was not present—item deferred to November meeting

B. Task Group 7 Electrification of Aircraft – George Rey

i. Terms of Reference

Mr. Rey was not present—item deferred to November meeting

C. BVLOS Pertaining to Cargo – Bartels via ??

Mr. Bartels will reach out to Mr. Rey for more details and will discuss at November meeting.

D. Advisory Committee Name Revision - Awareness Discussion

- i. Motion passed during May 2022 Meeting
- ii. Consistency with Federal Naming Convention

Mr. Rey will follow up and report at November meeting.

E. New FAA Contact—Scott Gammel

Mr. Gammel reported that there is a new contact at the FAA—Abigial Smith—head of UAS. Mr. Gammel would like to get the FAA to come down in November for the next LADAC meeting (if they are able).

Next Board Meeting:

Mr. Brandt informed LADAC that next meeting would be on November 16, 2022.

Adjournment:

Motion made by Mr. Gammel and seconded by Mr. Alford to adjourn LADAC meeting. Motion passed unanimously—Meeting adjourned at 12:05pm.