## Section 1.0: The Call

## Subsection 1.1: JBE 2016-23

In the months between inauguration day and the conclusion of the 2016 Regular Legislative Session, several policy decisions were made to improve Louisiana's multimodal transportation system. These administrative and legislative actions underscored the Edwards administration's commitment to transportation, and included the following:

- Ending Louisiana State Police's (LSP) reliance on the Transportation Trust Fund (TTF)
- Doubling the investment in the Port Priority Program
- Prioritizing transportation projects in the capital outlay process
- Enacting legislation to focus Public-Private-Partnership (P3) financing opportunities to critical needs while authorizing the state to be more strategic by enabling DOTD to solicit such partnerships
- Successfully competing against other states for a \$100 million federal FASTLANE grant award

Collectively, these efforts have ensured proper use of existing transportation revenues and positioned Louisiana to deliver major system enhancements should additional revenue be made available. Following these actions, Executive Order JBE 2016-23<sup>1</sup> was issued on June 7, 2016, creating the Governor's Task Force on Transportation Infrastructure Investment. Unlike efforts of previous governors and legislatures that focused on how the State *could* better invest in transportation, the Task Force was charged with identifying and recommending how the State *should* invest in transportation. More specifically, this diverse 18-member task force of leaders from various sectors of the public and private sector was charged with researching, identifying, and making specific actionable recommendations to sufficiently maintain the existing transportation system and finance the construction of Category A and B Megaprojects outlined by the Louisiana Statewide Transportation Plan. The order required a report be completed on or before January 1, 2017.

## Subsection 1.2: Task Force Membership

Pursuant to JBE 2016-23, the following members were named as members of the Task Force:

- Shawn D. Wilson, DOTD Secretary (Co-Chair)
- John Basilica, Member At-Large (Co-Chair)
- Greg Morrison, Member At-Large
- John Alario, Senate President
- Taylor Barras, Speaker of the House
- Page Cortez, Chairman of Senate Transportation Committee
- Kenny Havard, Chairman of the House Transportation Committee
- Jay Dardenne, Commissioner of Administration
- Kim Robinson, Secretary of Louisiana Department of Revenue
- Ann Trappey, Economic Development Representative
- Wyly Gilfoil, Economic Development Representative

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> A copy of JBE 2016-23 can be found online at <u>http://gov.louisiana.gov/assets/ExecutiveOrders/JBE16-23.pdf</u>.

- Jared Brossett, Economic Development Representative
- John Gallagher, Louisiana Municipal Association
- Roland Dartez, Louisiana Police Jury Association
- Reldon Owens, Louisiana Blue Print
- Robert Scott, Public Affairs Research Council
- Tom Yura, Louisiana Chemical Association
- Ken Naquin, Associated General Contractors